Organisation - how we are organised - GADS Gosforth

Go to content

Main menu:

Organisation - how we are organised

About GADS

Gosforth Amateur Dramatic Society is run by an Executive Committee, elected at the annual general meeting,
which is usually held during the first week of May each year.

Our AGMs have been delayed thanks to Covid-19 but we eventually managed to hold one on 27 July 2021.

The Executive Committee
The Executive Committee looks after the general administration of the society’s affairs and finances. It consists of the president, chairman, vice-chairman, secretary, treasurer and four ordinary members. All posts are honorary and only the nine elected members have voting rights. Additional members may be co-opted as required. One member is appointed to the Public Hall Management Committee to represent the society’s interests.

The Reading Committee
We used to have a Reading Committee to select plays, pantomimes and their Directors. In recent years, this has been better achieved by other means including via our very popular "Plays for Pleasure" reading group. The Reading Committee itelf is no longer operational and may be formally disbanded at the next AGM.

Executive Committee Members for 2021/22 are

Honorary President - Peter McKenzie
Chair - Karen Polmear
Vice Chair - Andy Williams
Secretary - Natasha McGregor
Treasurer - Jim Polmear

Other Members:
Ben Finch,
Chelsea Terry
Tina Wilson-Ferris
Gill Culshaw

The full rules of the society are set out in the constitution, which can be found  here.

Other relevant posts
Jim Polmear is Public Hall Committee representative.
Karen Polmear is our Safeguarding Officer.


Home     Top

Back to content | Back to main menu